There ‘aint no party like an S Club party!

Don't stop movin'!
Don’t stop movin’!

There ‘aint no party like an S Club party – and that was certainly the case for Bournemouth last night! Oh goodness, I can already tell that this is going to be a lot more difficult than I thought because all I want to do is stand up, with my best vocal performance and sing “SSSS Cluuuuuuuuub” but nevertheless, I’ll give it my best shot and attempt to retain my excitement.

Partying in the church (this is the nightclub, Halo, previously a church but now home to one of Bournemouth’s busiest student nights) with childhood FAVOURITES S Club 7 is definitely one of my better ways to spend a Thursday night. But before you get as excited as I did, only 3 members actually turned up. Unfortunately, Rachel Stevens is far too ‘big time’ for us students and as for the others, well Hannah’s tied up in some TV programme with dinosaurs (Primeval I believe it’s called) and the rest, I’m not even sure what their excuse was but it certainly was not good enough! With only 3 others remaining, it was a good job Jo, Bradley and Paul were up for showing off their best moves to the funky, funky beat (see what I did there?!).

So as students poured in, it certainly didn’t take long for the club to become crammed filled with excitable 90’s kids. Barely being able to raise your left arm in time to shout “Reach”, a front row spot, for me, beat all the hustle and bustle. You might have expected that over the years, since S Club were at their prime, the vocal ability may have dipped just slightly but this couldn’t have been further from the truth. Their ability to work the crowd is still phenomenal as there was not one single person that didn’t have their hips going and their arms raised up in the air – and yes, even the bouncer was reaching for those stars.

Most of us will remember S Club for their party anthems with the catchiest beats. This is clearly the reason why I’ve had the entire set list in my head for the whole day and probably starting to annoy people with my sudden outbursts of “SSSS Cluuuuuuuuuub!” However, sooner than hoped, it came that point in the set where the slow, tear-jerker’s were up. ‘Two in a Million’ and ‘Never had a Dream Come True’ brought the church down a notch as the fist pump quickly transformed into a swaying of both arms. It’s always a guaranteed crowd pleaser and there’s always one that can’t contain their emotions (may I just point out, this was not me!) Whether you sounded like Celine Dion or the strangled cat in your neighbour’s garden, there was no holding back when it came to these power tracks. It’s always the best way to round up the night, belting out some of the ultimate classics from your childhood favourite band surrounded by all your friends (look at me getting all cringe!), but it honestly is the truth.

So after last night, I’m calling for a huge S Club 7 reunion, with all members making an appearance (and yes, Rachel, that does mean you too). Who’s with me?

Leave a comment